What’s for Dinner…this week

It’s Monday morning and that means it’s time for a new weekly menu. Summer has finally arrived in Boring and so I’m bringing more of the grilled meat with fresh veggies or fruit. My sister who has been surviving the mid-west heat wave has been marveling at my soup-like, comfort food meals so here’s a week for her.

Last week I actually made every dinner I planned on every night I planned it. Not sure that’s ever happened before! Here are my thoughts on last week’s new recipes:

French Onion Panini: delicious! Super easy and totally tastes like the soup in a sandwich. This recipe is a keeper for sure.

Spicy Dr Pepper Shredded Pork: yummy and it makes a ton. I used Coke because I already had an open 2-liter that I would love to get out of my fridge. I think it would have been a bit sweeter with the Dr Pepper or Root Beer and will follow the recipe next time. Which means that, yes, there will be a next time. Absolutely worth it for the tiny bit of effort and delicious meal(s) you get out of it. As usual, PW does not disappoint.

Chili Colorado Burritos: very simple and my MIL loved it. Glenn and I thought it was pretty bland. You used canned enchilada sauce which makes it super easy but I may have chosen poorly when it came to my ready-made enchilada sauce. I’ve developed an irritating allergy to garlic so I bought the one can I could find that didn’t have garlic listed in the ingredients. Maybe I shouldn’t be surprised that it was bland? Bottom line…I like the idea a lot and may try it again with different (homemade?) sauce.

Salt & Vinegar Chips: not nearly as complicated as I expected. The recipe says to slice the potatoes 1/4 inch thick. This is too thick I think. They are yummy but not really different than regular roasted potatoes. Next time I’ll slice them thinner, with a mandolin, and see if they feel more “chip-like.”

And an added recipe I tried last week–Blackberry, Lemon and Thyme Muffins: This is what I did with those gems I found by the side of the road. They’re super yummy and I always love recipes that use the herbs I have growing in my yard. It makes me feel so Martha Stewart! Will keep this recipe too.

Now here’s the plan for this week:

Monday: Caprese Grilled Chicken with Balsamic Reduction

Tuesday: Taco Salad with leftover shredded pork (I told you, it makes a ton!) and cornbread

Wednesday: Brats with grilled onions and corn-on-the-cob

Thursday: PW’s Grilled Chicken with Lemon Basil Pasta

Friday: Burgers and Baked Beans with fruit

Saturday: Lettuce Wraps and rice

Sunday: Veggie Chopped Salad with Chicken

At this point we don’t have plans for dinner guests this week so I don’t really have baking on my list either. I will probably bake some kind of muffin-y/bread/pastry kind of thing to share with the parentals. I’ll keep you posted!

Here’s the printable: menu.

Buon Appetito!

Leave a Reply

