What’s for Dinner

Let me start with apologies for not posting a menu for last week. Somehow my schedule got crazy and it just didn’t happen. I did finally try the Skillet Chicken Parmesan from Cook’s Country. Can’t say I loved it. In it’s defense it was much more of a week-night meal than they usually do: one pan and fairly simple directions. The sauce was easy, quick and tasty but the overall experience just wasn’t “Chicken-Parm” enough for me. So we gave it a shot but I’m not saving the recipe.

We also tried a few new recipes the week before. Here’s my take: the ATK “Our Favorite Chili” is good. It’s a ton of work though and pretty similar to the ATK Chili Colorado I’ve tried before. Cathy has a delicious chili recipe that is pretty much stick-it-all-in-a-pot-and-walk-away so I’m thinking I’ll stick with that chili recipe and keep the Chili Colorado. I’ll be ditching “Our Favorite Chili.” The Barbacoa Beef was yummy. Just a note if you make it: the recipe calls for 2-4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I used 3 and it had some serious heat. Not bad if you want to add cheese or sour cream or something but for my no-sour-cream-husband, it was pretty steamy. The Cook’s Country St. Louis Style Pizza was fantastic. It comes together really quickly and the cheese (which seems a little fussy ahead of time) is absolutely worth the effort. One thing to know: the recipe makes enough dough for two pizzas. We baked them both at the same time and had one whole pizza leftover. I wouldn’t do that again. It didn’t reheat very well. Next time we’ll bake one to eat and save the dough for another meal.

Here’s the plan for this week, you’ll see that I am wanting a little more low-maintenance meals this week:

Monday: Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs–we loved this a couple weeks ago and I’m bringing it back again.

Tuesday: Burgers with grilled onions and corn on the cob.

Wednesday: PW’s Spicy Dr Pepper Shredded Pork (Cath’ tried this and said it’s fantastic!) with a chopped veggie salad

Thursday: Sloppy Joes with carrot & celery sticks

Friday: Chili Colorado Burritos with fresh fruit

Saturday: BLT’s with homemade salt and vinegar chips

Sunday: Baked Potatoes with leftover shredded pork

So that’s three Pinterest recipes for this week. And just FYI, it’s also the season for pickle-making! Stay tuned!

Buon Appetito!

Here’s the printable menu.

Leave a Reply

