What’s for Dinner {this week}

I’m thinking this may be a weekly thing. At my best I try to plan my menus for the week and do one biggish grocery store trip instead of every day trying to figure things out and now that we live in the middle of nowhere it just makes more sense. Right now I have a bit of a grilled burger thing going so I’m afraid without a plan Glenn would be eating burgers every night. And grilled onions. I cannot get enough of them.

Disclaimer: The problem with doing this weekly is that at its very first repetition you’re already going to see behind the curtain. Despite my plans our meals last week didn’t go accordingly. My sweet friend Michelle brought me some of her famous salsa so we had fajitas instead of Chicken Cacciatore because her salsa is that good. My family was finally able to reschedule our Father’s Day Shin Dig so tonight we’re having Rex’s awesome smoked/grilled ribs instead of lettuce wraps at home. So you’ll see a few items have reappeared on this week’s menu. I have all the ingredients so there they are–back again.

Review: One quick review from last week: the chicken with ginger from Martha Stewart’s site was fantastic! Super yummy and very quick. You cut the ginger into matchsticks and then soak them in water before you saute them with onions. I’ve never done that before and I love how it allows the ginger to cook without burning. The ginger brings such a lovely freshness and lightness to the flavors. Truly lovely. The recipe calls for fresh ginger but I usually keep a finger (pretty sure that’s what it’s called?) in my freezer and just grate some off, or in this case chop it, as required. Next time I’ll try it with a little less sugar and mix in more veggies. I think it will be delicious with some broccoli or spinach or even green beans. With the exception of the added vegetables, I loved that all of the ingredients are almost always in my pantry.

The Menu for the Boring house this week:

Monday: Chicken Cacciatore (Check last week’s entry for Juri Sbandati’s recipe for Pollo alla Cacciatoria.)

Tuesday: Lettuce Wraps (Again, check last week’s entry for this one from Allrecipes.)

Wednesday: Since this is the first day of camp, this will be a long day for Glenn with unpredictable hours so I’m planning baked potatoes with “fixin’s” (Shout out to Frasier and Niles) because we’ll have some flexibility on dinner time that way.

Thursday: Taco Salad

Friday: Hawaiian Grilled Chicken with Pineapple Rice (The chicken is a new recipe so I’ll let you know but the Pineapple Rice is tried and true and one of my favorites.)

Saturday: Slow-Cooker Barbacoa Beef with Lime Rice and Corn Salsa (Another new recipe, stay tuned.)

Sunday: steak with veggies and good bread

Here’s the printable: menu. One of my goals is to actually try the recipes I pin so you’ll see the pinterest logo next to this week’s experiments.

Buon Appetito!

Leave a Reply

