What’s for Dinner?

That was a punishable question when I was growing up. Now that I am the grown-up it’s on me to plan dinner and while I don’t have kids to pester me with that age-old question, I still love to plan ahead. (Let’s face it, if I had to decide what we were eating at dinner time each evening we’d be ordering a whole lot of pizza.) So here’s what’s on the menu at the Boring-house this week:

Monday: Grilled Chicken with Balsamic BBQ and chopped green salad (Giada’s recipe for Balsamic BBQ. I love it!)

Tuesday: I’m spending the day with my parents so Glenn’s on his own or we may meet for dinner somewhere.

Wednesday: Grilled Burgers and Baked Beans (It’s the 4th after all.)

Thursday: Chicken with Ginger and white rice (from Martha Stewart…this is a new recipe. I’ll let you know if it’s yummy.)

Friday: Glenn’s working this evening so like any self-respecting woman I will be a) eating crackers and cheese, b) driving thru (this happens less now that we live 20 minutes from, well, anything,) or c) eating something out of a can over the sink.

Saturday: Chicken Cacciatore (Glenn and I took an Italian cooking class a few years ago and this is one of the favorites from that. Thanks, Chef Juri Sbandati.)

Sunday: Lettuce Wraps (I like to use ground beef in mine. Here’s our favorite recipe from allrecipes. We love this because you can add tons of veggies. Last year when we did the CSA which seemed to pretty much just deliver a giant box of kale every week this recipe was a staple because we used every kind of green you can imagine.)

Here’s my menu printable. I am a firm believer in fonts and always like it when my to-do list looks cute. I think you can download it here? menu

UPDATE: Here’s the recipe for the Chicken Cacciatore. It’s a little vague, sorry. And remember, English isn’t his first language. šŸ™‚

Pollo Alla Cacciatora

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken (I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts because I am a wimp, am lazy, like the convenience.)
  • 2 celery stalks (I add more because I like the veggies–they get almost sweet and roasted.)
  • 3 carrots (See above.)
  • 1 red onion
  • tomato puree (I use a small can)
  • red wine (about a glass)

Procedure:

Salt and pepper to your liking. Clean the whole chicken then butcher the chicken properly. Cover the chicken in olive oil and brown. In a separate pan, saute in olive oil the chopped celery, carrot and onion. Add the chicken. When the pan is very hot, add red wine and when evaporated, add the tomato puree. Simmer and then cook in the oven at 375 until cooked through.

Buon Appetito!

4 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner?

Leave a Reply

